mprada

News, tools and interesting articles on translation and localization

Fluency translator tool November 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — martinho21 @ 7:31 pm

Thanks to some of my friends at the Monterey Institute I discovered a new CAT tool that seems to be really interesting, it reminds me to Lingotek but this one has some really interesting features and a nice and intuitive User Interface. The tool is called Fluency, it has been developed by Western Standard and you can download a free trial and watch a demo here.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Fluency translator tool”

  1. Uthra Mohan Says:

    Hi,
    I’m planning to become a first-time user of a CAT tool cos I want to upgrade my skills in order to get more translation projects. Would you advise this tool for me, considering that I’m very much computer savvy?

    Moreover what is your opinion on the market acceptance for this product? Will translation service providers be interested in buying this software in the near future? Do you know any of them who have started using it already?

    Appreciate your feedback.

    Thx!
    Uthra

    • martinho21 Says:

      Hi Uthra,

      To tell you the truth, I haven’t used the tool yet. It looks pretty good to me, but I don’t think it has had too much market acceptance yet. People are still using tools like Trados, most of the LSPs, and Wordfast. Online collaboration tools and translation management systems like Worldserver, Lingotek or Multitrans are becoming popular too. But probably companies will provide you with some training before you start using them. Here in the States, Trados is still a must.

      Thanks for your comment, Uthra, good luck with your search for the right tool and let me know if you have any other comments.

      Best,

      Martiño

  2. Tyler Says:

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. Yours is fantastic! What a great idea to post about tools. I’ve never heard of this one before.


Leave a Reply

