mprada

News, tools and interesting articles on translation and localization

Awesome Machine Translation Detector!! January 28, 2011

Filed under: Localization,machine translation,translation — martinho21 @ 10:04 am

I am sure we all have faced this scenario, we got a translation back that sounds kind of weird, there is something strange about it, we are almost sure that has been done by a machine (which doesn’t have to be a bad thing that was what we asked for), but we can’t prove it. Well, this a tool to detect machine translations, it is really fun to use, enjoy!!

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Awesome Machine Translation Detector!!”

  1. Steven Judd Says:

    I tested this with a full paragraph translated through Google translate and it thought there was a 28% chance it was done with Bing. Not a very good result. I want to be able to test if my students are translating their work in my Spanish class. This is pretty useless to me. I can’t seem to find a translation detector that suits my needs. What would be perfect is something that can look at one set of text and determine whether it was written using a translator. I say this because sometimes students in a foreign language class will type their papers in English and then use a machine translator to put it in the requested language. I would like to find a way of detecting that. I don’t know if this message will do any good, but I would really, really like to find something like this.

    • martinho21 Says:

      Hi Steven,

      I guess that the better the software tools are getting the hardest it gets to detect MT materials. I guess the best way to do it is by checking individual sentences, let’s say 5 or 6 per essay, in GoogleTranslate and if the translations are identical to the ones in the translation you are reviewing you can safely assume they have used MT.

      I think the more you familiarize yourself with translation and MT the easier it gets to detect this. There are some obvious MT errors that only a machine could make 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. David Says:

    ¿Awesome? I have just translated my webpage with a translation machine and that tool told me that there was a 0% changes that the translation was a machine translation. Doesn’t work at all.


Leave a Reply

